Skip to content
April 28, 2012 / Political Fluency

The Exquisitely Bitter Wit & Wisdom of G-Eminem

G-Eminem is persuaded that a goodly portion of our social pathologies would be eradicated, almost overnight, if every man returned to shaving with a mug, brush and straight edge.

 

Comment – A mug, brush and straight razor teach you that preparation is important and necessary, and requires forethought. A straight razor requires skill and attention to detail. Pre-fabbed solutions and idiot-proof tools such as we find today devalue competence and sound risk-management and foment false confidence and the attitude that “anybody can do it”. This is an unsupportable assumption that gets extended to bigger things because men have not had the experience of initial failure followed by progressive competence, leading to eventual mastery.

__

As a parent, I would be less dismayed that my son’s teacher was an adult film star and more so that he was the one to uncover the scandal.

California School Board Votes To Fire Science Teacher Who Appeared In X-Rated Videos

__

“Your 140 character long tweets of impossible to decipher initialisms, hashtags and grammatical errors will totally change how I am going to vote in November.” ~Martin Andrade

__

What could possibly go wrong?

Rove rides again, as a force behind Romney

__

My accumulated number of Groupon/Crowd Cut/Living Social vouchers has officially reached the ludicrous level.

__

Liberty is sweeping the Midwest.

Ron Paul backers sweep into GOP party roles in Iowa

__

I prefer to buy my human torsos in bulk.

Woman’s Torso Shipped To BJ’s Westborough Headquarters

__

Brandon Ferdig offers this well-reasoned and well-written piece on the disconnect between Minneapolitans and their ruling overlords on the matter of the stadium.

Vikings Stadium Kerfuffle « New Plateaus

__

In an effort to continue to “increase his national profile” we are now told that Sen. Marco Rubio will be delivering a “major” foreign policy speech.

The trick will be finding new countries to bomb.

__

Facebook friends, I need your help. I’m putting together a proposal for a public-private partnership in which the State of Minnesota (you) will subsidize my golf membership. It will help create jobs (groundskeepers, clubhouse attendants, restaurant and bar staff, starter, etc..) and will definitely enhance my quality of life.

Does anyone know PGA Commissioner Tim Finchem? I’m thinking if I have him lobby the legislators in St. Paul, it will definitely increase my chances.

Lastly, if we can’t pull this together by the end of the month, I might just move to South Dakota. ~ Nathan Hancock

__

That’s billion with a ‘B’.

New policies saved taxpayers $1 billion, Walker says – JSOnline

__

How did you guys not tell me about HBOs “How to Make it in America”? It’s ‘Entourage’ meets ‘Atlas Shrugged’. Well, that may be overstating it a bit, but it is about a young New Yorker trying to build a high-end denim business and “get paid” (and laid). The hero is a 20-something who sports Tea Party t-shirts (albeit only partially exposed under stylish cardigans) and who lectures his dad that Al Gore’s book is “propaganda”.

I suppose this is the best we can hope for from HBO, but, for once, here is a series that you can enjoy without simultaneously having capitalism savaged at the same time. Two thumbs up — way up!

__

Sorry, Barry.

Voters See Free Market, Not Government, As What Made America Great – Rasmussen Reports™

__

Marco Rubio is about to give a speech that seeks to pick a fight with both Russia and China. The three wars in which we are currently enmeshed are, apparently, not enough for the eager young neocon. Terrific.

Sen. Marco Rubio calls Putin ‘weak’ and says U.S. must deal with ‘China of today’ – HUMAN EVENTS

__

Previews of coming attractions.

UK Slides Back InTo Recession in First Double Dip Since 1970s

__

Federalism strikes again.

Supreme Court casts doubt on Obama’s immigration law claim

 

Comment – This quote tells it all:
“It seems to me the federal government just doesn’t want to know who’s here illegally,” Chief Justice John G. Roberts Jr. said at one point.

 

Political Fluency – Chief Justice Roberts is the hero America deserves, but not the one it needs right now. So we’ll hunt him. Because he can take it. Because he’s not our hero. He’s a silent guardian, a watchful protector. A dark knight.

__

Dedicated to Marco Rubio.

Son: “What is democracy?”

Father: “It’s got something to do with young men killing each other, I believe.”

… Son: “When it comes my turn, will you want me to go?”

Father: “For democracy, any man would give his only begotten son.”See More

Metallica – One (Video)

 

Political Fluency – It says, “Kill me” over and over again. “Kill me.”

S-O-S. Help me. S-O-S. Help me.

“I can’t live like this! I can’t!”
“Father, please help me.”

BTW Youtube is blocked at work, this is memory from at least a decade or more since I last saw the video.
Top 20 all-time video!

__

The future is closer than you think. Yesterday we saw nations wrestling with the property rights of asteroids. Today we see a near-term future when corporations will supplant nations as a more potent and wealthy sovereign force.

Is that a good thing? I’m not sure. But it can hardly be any worse.

Latest Record Results Show Apple a Bigger Global Power Than Most Nations

 

Political Fluency – If it is long-term thinking corporations like Apple, it may be better.
But if it’s more “get earnings up for this quarter” / “just make good for the next election” mentality where “I’ll be gone; you’ll be gone” then this might be even more disastrous because 2-6 years is longer than 3 months last time I checked.

__

I didn’t even know they lost it.

Doc claims he’s found the G-spot

__

was just informed that a recently deposed GOP congressional district chair was calling me out by name as all that is wrong with the Republican party.

You couldn’t wipe the smile off my face.

__

We’re breeding faster than the Santorums can make babies.

The Ron Paul Effect

 

 

Leave a Reply

